Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Yet to Know | #NaPoWriMoDayThree

Daily Prompt || April 3, 2014

National Poem Writing Month || Day Three


Yet to Know

I close my eyes
I hear the chirps
Of the birds resting low
I open them
And there I saw
The world I have yet to know

The cobblestones lay dry and wet
Under the extraordinary rays of the sun
The summer heat is striking
With the people’s laughter in all day’s fun

I see different shades of green
From the little garden that never dies
Creepy bugs live in them, maybe
Bugs that aren’t seen by my naked eyes

I close my eyes
I hear the chirps
Of the birds resting low
I open them
And there I saw
The world I have yet to know

My dog lies down on its own white fur
And cheerfully barks when our eyes met
Then she looks out to the quiet street
There’s a black cat walking down, I bet

My bike rests near the bamboo fence
A little bit rusty from the past few rains
I know it’s still good enough, however
For that’s the only bicycle I can sustain

I close my eyes
I hear the chirps
Of the birds resting low
I open them
And there I saw
The world I have yet to know

White puffy clouds float gradually
Like little cotton balls in the sky
The birds flew through them in a mist
Then they all soared up high

That’s all I can see from here, I thought
There’s nothing else to ponder
But if I go out of the house to explore the world
Will I see more? I wonder

I close my door
And stepped out
To give it all a go
I open the gate
And there I saw
The world I have yet to know

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Yet to Know | #NaPoWriMoDayThree

  1. Pingback: Not Gonna’ Happen… | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Looking Out My Back Door | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: My back yard | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: Looking back | Mindful Digressions

  5. Pingback: A Dialogue | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | My Atheist Blog

  7. Pingback: My Back Yard, Then and Now | A mom's blog

  8. Pingback: Daily prompt: Back window | The Wandering Poet

  9. Pingback: CCR Baby | Thinking Diagonally

  10. Pingback: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Oh Danny Boy!

  11. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 93] So near yet so far | Never A Worry

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

What can you say?

