It’s Just the Beginning

 SUMMER POST #1


 Day one of summer just started today when my friends and I went to this private resort somewhere in Muntinlupa. Well, it might have been private if we had the entire pool reserved and we were having the place for our own. Nevertheless, there were still other guests who came there that we tried to share the swimming pool with. 

My best friend’s mother is a teacher from another school, and since the school days had gone by, she decided to treat her students with an amusing pool party. I was invited by my best friend because she didn’t want to be left alone with them. There were seven of us in Teacher Mary’s car (now I call her Mommy), including my brother. My parents wished to have my older brother join me, because they will not allow me to go if I have no companion.

Asking permission to Mom and Dad have been so devastatingly difficult these days. I was always desperate and I can barely stop myself from forcing them to say yes. 

I slept two in the morning the night before (well, technically it’s not night anymore). Dozing for only four hours, I managed to wake up at six in the morning the next day with the endless roars of my two alarm clocks – one was the little blue alarm clock and the other one was my cellphone. But it became useless rising early at dawn when I literally went back lying down on the bed again. (sigh) Stupid. My mother woke me up for the second time, then I was mentally panicking because it was exactly 8:14 AM. And we were supposed to be picked up by nine. I didn’t take a shower to get ready, considering it was a swimming resort I am going to. But I did dress up so quick that I almost ripped off my shorts when I was about to wear it.

Unbelievably, my brother and I was picked up not earlier than ten o’clock. (Seriously?!) But I understood. They were just too busy buying litres of soda from the local store for our lunch and snacks later on. I remember when my best friend begun passing around a pack of marshmallows in the car, and I took three of them, mumbling “chubby bunny” on every piece that is placed inside my mouth. Crazy, I know.


The best part of today happened just before we left the place. We stood on the shore of Laguna de Bay and felt the strong wind blowing past us, like little precarious fingers touching our skin.

But I have to say, I really felt summer one moment when I dipped my legs in the pool, and my friends splashed water right in front of my beautiful face..

Yep, that’s summer. And that’s the way you start it. 

Image

From left to right: Nelly (my best friend), Me (haha), Julia, Jedd, and then my brother at the farthest right. Alliah was behind me.

What can you say?

